Today we start a new feature called Author Spotlight. This is a chance for you the reader to get to know our fabulous Colorado authors.

 

Jordyn Redwood is a pediatric ER nurse by day, suspense novelist by night. She hosts Redwood’s Medical Edge, a blog devoted to helping contemporary and historical authors write medically accurate fiction. Her debut novel, Proof, has been endorsed by the likes of Dr. Richard Mabry, Lynette Eason, and Mike Dellosso to name a few and received a starred review in Library Journal. You can connect with Jordyn via her website at www.jordynredwood.net.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JordynRedwood

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jordyn.redwood

 

 

Amazon Blurb: Dr. Lilly Reeves is a young, accomplished ER physician with her whole life ahead of her. But that life instantly changes when she becomes the fifth victim of a serial rapist. Believing it’s the only way to recover her reputation and secure peace for herself, Lilly sets out to find–and punish–her assailant. Sporting a mysterious tattoo and unusually colored eyes, the rapist should be easy to identify. He even leaves what police would consider solid evidence. But when Lilly believes she has found him, DNA testing clears him as a suspect. How can she prove he is guilty, if science says he is not?

Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.com/Proof-A-Novel-Bloodline-Trilogy/dp/0825442389/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1337199475&sr=8-1

1) How long have you been writing? How did you get started?

JR: I’ve been writing ever since I was in elementary school. I love to write stories. The beginning of my mind seriously considering writing a full length novel started in 2002 after my first daughter was born. That’s when I convinced my husband to buy me a laptop.

2) Tell us about your upcoming novel.

JR: Proof deals with the real life possibility of DNA testing setting a guilty criminal free. Dr. Lilly Reeves is the fifth victim of a serial rapist and though she correctly identifies her rapist to the police, DNA testing says otherwise. The novel is Lilly’s pursuit of unraveling her attacker’s DNA mystery. On this journey, Lilly discovers what sacrificial love really means.

3) What type of music are you listening to on your iPod/CD player/Pandora right now?

JR: I enjoy praise and worship music so right now I have Passion’s White Flag album. I also like some of the “oldies” like Journey when Steve Perry was the lead singer. Pat Benatar classics. Anything with a good, driving beat.

4) What is the most unusual thing on your “bucket list?”

JR: Hmmm—good question. I would really love a big, obnoxious log cabin in the mountains complete with a stream running right beside it. Screened in porch. Big huge fireplace. The ultimate writing retreat. I’d also like to visit Italy someday.

5) Do you outline or write by the seat of your pants?

JR: As much as I hate to admit it, I’ve discovered the importance of writing a good, detailed plot synopsis. That gives me enough structure to guide the novel but enough leeway to let the creative process come up with some pretty fun surprises. It’s also one of the hardest things to do.

6) Tell us about your favorite place to write.

JR: I generally write at home in my office. My husband is building a bunch of cabinets and library shelves and I cannot wait for it to be finished.

7) What one bit of advice would you give a new writer that you wish someone had given you?

JR: You don’t have to write only what you know. I love to do research and I think as long as you research a topic adequately and have a few experts review your work so that it remains authentic—then you can write anything your heart desires.

8) Who is your favorite author and why?

JR: Dean Koontz is hands down my favorite author. His pages drip with tension and his descriptive prose is some of the best I’ve ever read of any author. His book, Life Expectancy, is my favorite.

Thanks so much for having me!!

