Today’s post is brought to you by newbie retreat attendee, Tammie Fickas.

They say a writer’s life is a solitary life. And, yes, there are times when we just have to lock ourselves away with a computer and get the work done. However, there are times when a writer just needs to let their hair down, relax, and spend time with other people.

Relaxing and spending time with other writers is definitely on the agenda for this retreat. The weekend is not about learning or even pitching to agents and publishers. It’s simply about taking time to slow down and recharge our spirit.

Kim Vogel Sawyer, an award-winning inspirational Christian author and speaker, will be joining us for the weekend. She will be encouraging us as writers and as Christians. I look forward to a time of replenishing my spirit and focusing my sight on God. As a Christian writer that connection with Him is so important to allowing Him to work through me.

I’ve only been active with the ACFW Colorado group for a short time and this will be my first time at the retreat.  I was inspired by Kathy Brasby’s post on Wednesday on advice for newbies. (If you’re a newbie and haven’t read it, hop on over and check it out.) As I’ve gotten to know a few people in the group I’ve found them to be down-to-earth and friendly. They really are encouraging and want to see other writers succeed.

The retreat center is nestled in the foothills near Larkspur, CO. What better way to get in touch with God than being surrounded by the beauty He has created.

Overall, the weekend promises to be a great time and a wonderful opportunity to get to know some other Christian writers. Won’t you join us?

Early bird registration ends March 31st. You can register for the conference by clicking this link.

 

