Image: David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Today’s post is by Tamara.

Do you Twitter? What about Facebook? Do you have followers on your blog? These are all ways that were bandied about during a lunch conversation at the 2009 Writing for the Soul Conference. Marketing yourself as a Christian writer seems to be one of the hardest things for a lot of writers. I know it is for me. As Christians we are taught to be humble and not vain. Proverbs 29:23 tells us that “A man’s pride will bring him low, But the humble in spirit will retain honor.” Yet, if no one reads what we write have we truly used the gift God has given us?

When God gives us gifts He expects us to use them to minister to others. In order to do that sometimes we have to market ourselves. Sitting at our computer daily and pounding away at the keys doesn’t fulfill our purpose unless those words reach the people God intended them for. So, in order to be good stewards we have to learn to build our readership. Twitter, Facebook, and blogs are just some of the ways to do that at this time. The trick for us is to use these options wisely.

We have to learn to walk the line between allowing God to work through us and stroking our own ego.  I, personally, struggle with this. When I write something someone likes it is easy to get puffed up and think I am great. I’ve had some writer’s block lately and I have been thinking about that a lot. I believe that much of my writer’s block comes from the human side of me wanting to write great things and be admired. When I let go and allow God to speak through my written words the task is sometimes easier. My mind has been cleared of all thoughts except for what God wants. My own desire for greatness is out of the way. Once I get out of God’s way He can work through me, but only if the message gets out to the right people. Marketing our writing is part of getting the message out.

God has entrusted us with a talent. He has trusted us with a ministry. How we use that ministry is up to us. And how we choose to use the electronic marketing options available is also up to us. I, for one, am going to keep this in mind as I walk this line.

